Friday, May 4, 2012

Book Review: Valentine Princess by Meg Cabot

Author: Meg Cabot
Publisher: HarperCollins
Series Order: Book 4.25
Hardcover: 86 pages
Summary: (Taken from Goodreads)
When you're Princess Mia, nothing happens the way it's supposed to. For one thing, Grandmere seems determined to prove "that boy" (or Michael, as he is commonly known) isn't the right one for the crown princess of Genovia. And Mia isn't having much luck proving otherwise, since Michael has a history of being decidedly against any kind of exploitative commercialization (Valentine's Day, as it is commonly known). 
Boris can declare his love openly to Lilly, and even Kenny comes through with a paltry Whitman's Sampler. So why can't Michael give in to Cupid and tell Mia he loves her--preferably with something wrapped in red or pink and accompanied by roses--in time to prove he's Mia's true prince?

Overall Rating: 5/5

Valentine Princess is hilarious. Mia is freaking out because it's her first Valentine's Day as a couple with Michael, and she wants to do something special, but Michael isn't a fan of the "holiday," since he sees it as a way for companies to exploit money out of people. When reading the series, I opted to skip the companion books and read them later. I'm so glad I did that. It's been a couple of years since I finished the series, and having Mia back in my life is wondrous.

This was a short book, but I laughed throughout the entire thing, and I couldn't put it down. Meg Cabot proves how hilarious she is by throwing in some ironic statements by Mia that are supposed to prove how much she and Michael are meant for each other. Remember, although this was published in 2006, it's supposed to take place roughly around 2002. So she has some hilarious lines about Michael being the Brad to her Jennifer, and other references to "made-for-each-other" couples that weren't exactly made for each other.

Definitely a must-read for all Princess Diaries fans. Although, consider waiting to read this until you're either finished with the series or in publication order (after Book 7), because Meg throws in a few references that you won't get unless you're at Book 7. And trust me, it is so much funnier that way.